The ensemble of this year’s Nobel Prize winners is complete. In the economics category, three economists from the USA and Canada are honored.

1 format6001
Award-winning: David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens (from left to right) PHOTO: DPA / NIKLAS ELMEHED / NOBEL PRIZE

The US economists David Card, Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens are awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Economics. This was announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm at the end of the days of the Nobel Prize announcements.

Card was recognized for “his empirical contributions to labor economics,” while the other two were recognized for “methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.” As in previous years, the prizes are worth ten million Swedish kronor (approximately 980,000 euros) per category.

The Nobel Prize for Economics, which has been awarded since the late 1960s, is the only one that does not go back to the will of the prize sponsor and dynamite inventor Alfred Nobel (1833-1896). It was donated by the Swedish Central Bank and is therefore not, strictly speaking, a classic Nobel Prize. Nevertheless, it will be presented together with the other prizes on the anniversary of Nobel’s death, December 10th.